Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

1,000 posts later

A message from WordPress popped up on my last weekend, informing me I was now at 1,000 posts for this blog. The milestone took my be surprise, as the last time I happened to check the post count was a little over 700.

Time flies I suppose, and with the blog now in its seventh year I took a look at the most popular posts over that time. I can only judge by views, however. In spite of recently commenting how I felt likes and comments were better measures, these aren’t tracked in any meaningful way via the WordPress dashboard. I can view all my posts in descending order of views, but there’s no comparable data for likes or comments, which is a shame.

The three most popular articles published are:

Good box, bad box, published in 2014, which looked at the vexed question of board game box design.

gbbbgb02

Nurgle Fortress at Warhammer World, a pictorial view of an impressive diorama, published in 2017.

warhammerworld_dioramas_nurglefortress12

Classic dioramas at Warhammer World, part of the same series as the Nurgle fortress, also published in 2017. These were some of my favourites too.

warhammerworld_dioramas_classic_ horusvsemperor2

Those are the three most popular, measured only by views.

However my three favourite articles are:

One Thousand, Two Hundred and Seventy-Four. Published in 2016, this article photographed all my painted miniatures, and is very much at the core of what this blog is about.

allmodels_04

Warhammer 40,000 chaos warband name generator. I had fun coming up with these one afternoon, and in fact this article receives a steady stream of hits, presumably from Google searches.

nurglewargandnamegenerator

5 simple rules for selling your Magic: the Gathering collection. Another one from 2014, this was the first long article I wrote because I wanted to create something helpful and useful for other people. It addressed a lot of the common mistakes I see people make when trying to sell off their cards, but in a more positive way.

villainouswealth

Villainous Wealth by Erica Yang

I’ll continue posting to my current schedule of 2-4 posts each week-end. Expect many more favourites to come!

15 comments on “1,000 posts later

  1. Tarmor
    January 27, 2019

    Congrats on 1000 posts! This recap brings back memories – I really liked the Warhammer World pics, and I took your advice from that “Magic selling” post when I decided I was holding too many Magic cards.

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      January 27, 2019

      Thanks, and it’s great to hear the Magic article has a positive effect. I still see people being brought to the site by searching for ‘how to sell a mtg collection’ or similar.

      Like

  2. Azazel
    January 27, 2019

    Congrats mate on cracking the tonne! That’s still a very impressive mini collection as well – we’ll need an update to that sometime in 2019. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      January 27, 2019

      Thanks and yes, I will need to update that photo some time this year. My painted model count is getting towards 1,500 so I think I’ll do the update then.

      Like

      • Azazel
        January 27, 2019

        That makes sense – looking forward to it!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. imperialrebelork
    January 27, 2019

    Congratulations on the 1000 man. Keep up the good work 👍🏼

    Liked by 1 person

  4. theimperfectmodeller
    January 27, 2019

    1000 posts and 7 years is going some Dave, very well done mate and congratulations on the landmark.

    Like

  5. Wudugast
    January 27, 2019

    Well done – here’s to the next thousand! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thomas
    January 27, 2019

    Wow! Congratulations on reaching the milestone!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Le Bim
    January 29, 2019

    Bloody hell ! 1000 ! Impressive. Quality and quantity ! Congratulations

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 27, 2019 by in cool stuff, Writing and tagged , .