Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Numinous Occulum

If you’re familiar with the strangely-named terrain set from games Workshop, you would notice that this isn’t the full set:

I had a hard time assembling this one. In fact I gave up and took the set over to a more experienced friend. After humming and hawing for a while, he pronounced that I hadn’t done too bad of a job (high praise, trust me) and had a go at fixing it up. The pieces refused to slot together in any meaningful way, and in the end he used a piece of sprue to fill a large gap, visible on the right in the image above.

So, a terrible set to put together, and I would not recommend this set to anyone. I don’t believe I have ever said this about a terrain piece from Games Workshop. This really was a low point.

However it paints up nicely!

In terms of painting method I again used the ruins of excess theme from Xenus Minis, which I think suited this kit nicely.

So the Occulum is complete and ready to power up any wizard who wanders in:

A more nefarious spellcaster might lurk underneath:

Overall I am glad to be done with this piece but also happy with how it came out. I’ll claim victory here!

10 comments on “Numinous Occulum

  1. Ann
    May 30, 2020

    I think it came out looking nice. I think there is one of those at the game store I play at in the terrain case. (It has been so long now, I forget, lol.) As I remember it is pretty fun to have on the table. Sounds like it is the land speeder storm of terrain so far as putting it together goes. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      May 30, 2020

      Thanks Ann, and yes I was shocked at how poorly it went together compared to the 40k industrial terrain I’ve become used to.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kuribo
    May 30, 2020

    I really like the color choices on this piece of terrain. It looks magical/ethereal and very eye catching. Perfect for Warhammer and Warcry I’d say! Thank you for the follow as well. I look forward to following your site and seeing more awesome projects like this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      May 30, 2020

      Thanks! And you’re welcome on the follow, I like your Middle Earth and Wasteland work

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Bookstooge
    May 30, 2020

    Could the poor piece construction be due to a bad “batch” of pieces or do you think it was something systemic to that whole terrain piece? Or was the guy at the factory drunk that day? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      May 30, 2020

      I suspect it’s endemic to the piece, since plastic sprues like the ones in this set are cast in steel molds. In my many years of buying hard plastic kits I haven’t seen a bad batch, but I have seen poor design.

      It’s probably a model where it’s easy to make a mistake early in assembly which then leads to other parts not fitting properly.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Connecting articles | Scent of a Gamer

  5. Pete S/ SP
    May 31, 2020

    That looks good- came out well in the end. I’m surprised at the fit issues. GW’s stuff has always been well engineered in past years.

    Cheers,

    Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      June 1, 2020

      Yes this one was a bit of a surprise, I’ve never encountered anything like it before or since.

      Like

  6. Pingback: Pink terrain? Pink terrain. | Scent of a Gamer

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2020 by in Miniatures, Painting & Modelling, tabletop terrain, The Projects and tagged , , , , , .