Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Arcane Ruins update 1

The Arcane Ruins was a terrain kit from Games Workshop. From memory (which may be faulty) it was released in the late 1990s. Maybe early 2000s. Either way, this set is old.

But. it’s a good set that provides a lot of terrain for a reasonable price. I’ve painted only one piece previously, the flat base part.

This received a fairly simple ‘desert ruins’ paint job which was two layers of Vallejo sepia wash over a white base coat.

For the rest of the set I wanted something different, and a pair of Xenus Minis painting tutorials came to my rescue. Here’s the first piece done:

A very different look!

I think the broken column lines up better than that, but when it came time to apply the glue, this was the best I could get it at.

Method

Now I look again at the image above I realise I missed out a few paints!

The ruins and the base work come from Xenus Minis tutorials as I have said. The basing I have used before. As well as bases, I used it to paint the Flamers of Tzeentch earlier this year.

The ruins themselves benefited from a later tutorial used on Age of Sigmar ruins:

My ruins came out differently as I used less of the blue, and also finished with Pallid Wytch Flesh as a final spot highlight. I’m happy with how they came out, and you can expect to see the rest of the Arcane Ruins set painted similarly.

4 comments on “Arcane Ruins update 1

  1. Azazel
    May 10, 2020

    Nice work, Dave!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. maenoferren22
    May 10, 2020

    Looking great

    Like

  3. Pete S/ SP
    May 11, 2020

    Love that colour scheme.

    Cheers,

    Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on May 10, 2020 by in Miniatures, Painting & Modelling, tabletop terrain, The Projects and tagged , , , , .