Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Warhammer Quest goblins

The look of these goblins from Warhammer Quest Silver Tower were quite divisive when they first appeared. Their spideresque forms were not especially popular, and ultimately when the goblin range was revisited for Age of Sigmar this look wasn’t carried over.

A enemies go these are fine, although ultimately I would have been happier with four-limbed goblins. There’s a sentence I never thought I would write.

These also received shattered domain bases. This time I painted them in a simple purple tone rather than try anything fancy. These are basic models, after all.

11 comments on “Warhammer Quest goblins

  1. deturnation
    August 29, 2020

    Were they actually a test run for ip-protectable Gobbos? Never saw them as that, always thought of them more of generic board game token/enemy pieces for hero quest. Nicely done critters.

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      August 29, 2020

      These were the first ‘Age of Sigmar’ gobbos to appear, and I wasn’t surprised to see the eventual army take a different turn.

      Liked by 1 person

      • deturnation
        August 29, 2020

        I remember them, was only surprised to think they would’ve been considered as a new direction. Always thought those were simply (was it Silver Tower-)mutations? Well I’m actually pretty happy for the direction they eventually took. I had never collected much Orks and Gobbos, but those mad squig-knights and the whole armor plating really nailed the theme great.

        Liked by 1 person

      • davekay
        August 29, 2020

        No one knew what the new look was going to be but these went over like a lead balloon. The look they eventually came out with was great

        Liked by 1 person

  2. maenoferren22
    August 29, 2020

    Like the faces and posture but not the extra limbs

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      August 29, 2020

      Yes they just feel unnecessary

      Liked by 1 person

      • maenoferren22
        August 30, 2020

        I loved my Goblin Forces, but they always felt more cartoony than some of the illustrations. These look more menacing.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. terryshithole
    August 30, 2020

    i liked ’em a lot and wish i’d bought some 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kuribo
    August 30, 2020

    I can see what GW was trying to do and it fits the setting of Silver Tower but it was a whiff for me too. They just look weird and kind of unsettling with the extra limbs. Almost like something out of a horror movie. I like how you painted yours and you’ve been very productive painting wise of late which I would think feels good 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Azazel
    August 30, 2020

    I’d actually forgotten that these things existed, and while I’m ok with them being mutated things in ST, I’m also glad that they didn’t go with this angle for the actual night goblin revamp. They look good here, and the SD bases look the part for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      August 31, 2020

      Yes, I’m going to try something different with the bases for each set of models, see what works best.

      Like

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on August 29, 2020 by in Board Games, Miniatures, Painting & Modelling, Tabletop, The Projects, Warhammer Quest and tagged , , , .