Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Without internet

A few weeks ago, our internet went down, and it was a week before we got it back up and running. If you’d told me a month before that I would lose internet access for a week, I would have panicked.

In fact the week passed more peacefully that I expected. We read books, played board games, watched DVDs. Not so bad.

Photo by cottonbro on Pexels.com

Thanks for the magic of post scheduling, I did not break my ‘updated every week-end’ promise that appears on the blog’s front page (seven and a half years, and still going!).

I missed a few things of course, but it wasn’t what I had expected. I mainly missed interacting here with other bloggers, and watching YouTube videos. I did not miss general web or social media browsing at all. Reading books was much better. It was a remarkably calm week in the household.

Once the internet was safely backup and running, both my wife and I remarked how there had been no snapping or arguing from the general stress of no internet as we had each expected there to be. So far so good.

Ultimately the week was more positive than not. I have got the reading itch again, and am powering through books at a fair rate. My painting didn’t pick up that much during the no internet week. I realised it came back to those YouTube videos; I usually have them playing while I paint, regardless of whether the subject is miniatures. Without them, the habit was broken.

So, interacting with other bloggers on WordPress and watching YouTube videos, generally on the subject of painting miniatures. That is the internet for me, at its core. I think I would do well to remember that, and spend less time on other websites, and more time painting and writing!

10 comments on “Without internet

  1. John@justneedsvarnish
    August 23, 2020

    Nice to hear you had a fairly relaxed week all in all! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      August 23, 2020

      yes I went far better than I would have predicted, although we were annoyed to miss the first couple of days’ opportunity to watch Umbrella Academy season 2!

      Like

  2. theimperfectmodeller
    August 23, 2020

    I think one of the good things about an Internt loss having experienced a good few myself is that like Covid-19 it is a time to reflect. I have certainly changed a good few habits as a consequence. More interestingly, and pleasing from my point of view as a father, is that both my kids have independently of each other removed all social media. At long last they have realised how much time is wasted and that talking and other interests are preferable.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Stuart Danker
    August 23, 2020

    Yes! Creation over consumption! I too tend to forget this sometimes, so maybe an internet detox for a week is what I need to get my creative gears going again. Thanks for sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      August 23, 2020

      happy to share, glad you liked it!

      Like

  4. Kuribo
    August 25, 2020

    It is impressive how well you handled it and when I had computer issues about a month ago, I really missed the interactions too. Scheduling some articles ahead of time was a pretty smart move too I’d say 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Azazel
    August 30, 2020

    Not sure if I could handle a week without internet. A week without interacting, sure – but I like my podcasts and connectivity so my wife and I can access digital games.

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      August 31, 2020

      Netflix was hardest to do without, and we could still get podcasts though our phones, just had to use data

      Like

  6. Geri Lawhon
    October 18, 2020

    I would not want to lose the internet, because I have to work from home. Otherwise, a week without it might not be that bad.

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      October 19, 2020

      For work I was able to tether through my work phone and keep going that way. The week without personal internet was quite interesting.

      Like

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on August 23, 2020 by in blogging, Writing and tagged , .