Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Throne of Eldraine art review

Throne of Eldraine is Magic’s set of fairy tales run through the Magic: the Gathering washing machine.

Both in appearance and in function, the cards leaned in to the fairy tale aspect. Noble knights, evil goblins, and plenty of reference to specific stories.

Trapped in the Tower by Howard Lyon

Here’s a straight up Rapunzel card, with some excellent art by Howard Lyon.

Ardenvale Tactician by Jason Rainville

A knight flies her winged steed between the viewer and the sun in this art from Jason Rainville.

The Great Henge by Adam Paquette

Henges, or standing stones, feature frequently in folk tales from the British Isles and so it’s no surprise to see a card depicting a henge in its guise as a place to travel from one world to another.

Once and Future by Nils Hamm

Arthurian myth looms large in this piece by Nils Hamm, already my favourite Magic artist.

Swamp by Paul Scott Canavan

In this illustration we see swamps as they often appear in folk tales – dark, foreboding places, where witches and other types dwell. The basic lands in general are a visual treat in this set, but this swamp was the standout for me.

Further viewing

You can see all Throne of Eldraine cards here, including the alternate art cards, and cards from the Brawl decks which don’t appear in regular boosters.

You may also like some of my recent art reviews, including Commander 2019, Core Set 2020, and Modern Horizons.

7 comments on “Throne of Eldraine art review

  1. Bookstooge
    October 5, 2019

    I haven’t looked at my local lgs for the brawl decks, but the brawl decks are NOT available online at either target or walmart. Target had 2 of them for about 15 minutes before the listing disappeared. Not sure if they sold out or never had them.

    Tonight I might be braving the wilds of a super walmart to see if they have any. I suspect someone has already plundered them though 😦

    And I am NOT paying 50 for a brawl deck…

    Liked by 2 people

    • davekay
      October 5, 2019

      Good call. I’m sure there will be another print run and prices will soon become reasonable.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bookstooge
        October 5, 2019

        You’d hope so, I hope so, we all hope so. Depends on how badly WotC wants brawl to succeed on paper. I’d have bought them up right away if they’d had an arena code, but no go. I’m still shaking my head at that bit of silliness 🙂

        Of course, I’ll be buying the brawl decks for their commander potential 😀 😀 😀 so maybe wotc isn’t as stupid as I’m making them out to be, ha!

        Liked by 1 person

      • davekay
        October 5, 2019

        True, I was able to pick up two, and they have already been broken up for Commander! I’m assuming WotC would rather sell more of these decks than less, so another printing should be coming. Also, I think that we may see these for every set from now on, so Arcane Signet will hopefully come down to sensible pricing by the middle of next year.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ann
    October 7, 2019

    Certainly some beautiful art. I was going to pick a favorite but I realize I like them in different ways.

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      October 7, 2019

      Yes, there’s a great variety of styles in this set, I love it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Ikoria art review | Scent of a Gamer

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on October 5, 2019 by in Art, MtG Artists and tagged , , , , , .