Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Neglected models: Aekold Helbrass

Aekold Helbrass is not a familiar name to players of Warhammer Age of Sigmar. This model is an old chaos champion from the mid-90s, scultped by the Perry brothers and my version is the white metal figure. Not sure if they ever remade this one in resin.

His before shot shoes a very old black undercoat, and the start of an experiment with non-metallic metal which I never completed. These days Games Workshop make a good gold paint, so I went with that for the overall effect.

Aekold Helbrass: acquired 1996, painted 2019

After painting the gold I came across a YouTube tutorial about painting a glowing metal effect on swords. The video maker took an hour; mine is the 12-minute version. ‘

Overall I’m really happy with how this model came out. It’s probably my favourite model that I’ve painted. I have some mid-90s metal chaos knights still in their box, so you may see this paint scheme again some day.

Here’s that YouTube tutorial

13 comments on “Neglected models: Aekold Helbrass

  1. Mikko
    April 21, 2019

    Ah, Helbrass has always been one of my favourite minis of the 90s WHFB range. IIRC he had a cool backstory where flowers and greenery would spring up in his footsteps etc. You could add a flowery tuft to the base if you want to give a nod in that direction 🙂 https://warhammerfantasy.fandom.com/wiki/Aekold_Helbrass

    Liked by 2 people

    • davekay
      April 21, 2019

      Yes, I put my brightest tufts on the base, but I plan to beg a flower patch from a friend, probably for behind him

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bookstooge
    April 21, 2019

    Do these metal ones have to worry about rust or corrosion when sitting around unpainted for so long?

    Like

    • davekay
      April 21, 2019

      No, they are made of white metal (pewter) so they won’t oxidise. Which is just as well, given how long some of mine lay around for!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Wudugast
    April 22, 2019

    Nice! I’d quite forgotten about him, good to see him marauding around once more. Great work on the sword, really looks like super-heated metal.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Azazel
    April 22, 2019

    Very nice work here, Dave! He looks great, as does the molten sword.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. theimperfectmodeller
    April 22, 2019

    Nicely done mate, the 12 min versions works for me!

    Like

  6. backtothehammer
    April 23, 2019

    It’s really random that you just dig him out as I was watching a lore video on him the other day! Great model a real throwback to my Warhammer youth.

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      April 23, 2019

      Yes he’s a great character as well as a great model

      Like

  7. Pingback: Otherworld Hearthguard complete | Scent of a Gamer

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on April 21, 2019 by in Miniatures, Neglected models, Painting & Modelling, Tabletop, The Projects and tagged , , , , .