Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Miniatures on display

I took advantage of a recent family trip to Ikea to pick up something I’ve had my eye on for a while – their glass display case. The case was fairly simple to assemble – or so my wife tells me – and it hold fully four shelves of models, like so:

display

Some closer images of each shelf:

display_1knightandindustrial

The top shelf holds the Warhammer 40k collection, mainly featuring the industrial terrain and the knight I painted several years ago.

display_2towerandtrees

The next shelf down needs more models. The ruined tower display is mainly there for dust protection just now. Once I locate my Saga army, it will probably go here.

display_3upperdungeon

The tablescapes dungeon covers almost two whole shelves, and this is the upper level, filled with monsters, mostly from models painted over the past couple of years. There is a Necrarch vampire there which would have been painted in 2002, and a few older models here and there.

display_4lowerdungeon

The lowest shelf (and blurriest pic) has been filled with the dungeon tiles and features as many fantasy hero models as I could locate, plus a dwarf team which has clearly turned up for dungeonbowl!

 

What next? Well, it occurred to me that there’s lots of unused space due to the dimensions of the cabinet. The design does not allow for other shelves to be easily added. However I’m thinking that some plastic pillars from a cake shop attached to some mdf or sturdy cardboard could make some extra space in between one or two of the shelves. We’ll see.

13 comments on “Miniatures on display

  1. Faust
    February 2, 2019

    Forgot what they big burrowing worm on the bottom right is, but I guess I didn’t know BIG that thing was! Very impressive. I’ve seen those cases before. Looks pretty cool, and a great way to display all your painted treasures.

    Like

    • davekay
      February 2, 2019

      The Bones Goremaw figure – it’s a big one!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Faust
        February 2, 2019

        Oh that’s right “Goremaw”. I keep thinking it would make a great sub for a Purple Worm or other large burrowing monsters.

        Like

  2. Azazel
    February 2, 2019

    Detolfs FTW!
    Just google “detolf shelf brackets” to see some of the options and solutions that have come before. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. theimperfectmodeller
    February 2, 2019

    Can’t help but think you are making a big mistake here Dave. If it were me I’d tell my misses that the cabinet is full so I need to buy another one. Then once I had two I would expand with additional shelves.

    Like

    • davekay
      February 2, 2019

      After searching for other people’s displays on google, I found someone who had put 5 of these side by side – except now she’s seen it too!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. imperialrebelork
    February 3, 2019

    I’ve been to Ikea twice in my life and both times I lost the will to live haha. However they do have good display stands. I bought mine from Aldi here in Aus. $60 for two. Bloody bargain. Now I need about eight more haha.

    Like

  5. Tarmor
    February 3, 2019

    Looks great! I really need one of those display cabinets! The reference to the Bunnings shelf brackets is useful too, as the first thing I’d want is more shelves.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2019 by in cool stuff, Miniatures, Painting & Modelling, Tabletop and tagged , , , , .