Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Scott M. Fischer on illustrating for Magic: the Gathering

Scott M. Fischer was illustrating Magic cards years before I started playing the game. He’s written an insightful and amusing piece on Muddy Colors talking about the experience.

serraavenger

Wherever possible Scott has used the names of cards he’s illustrated over the years in his article, and linked to those cards. He didn’t manage to squeeze them all in, but that would be quite a feat given he has illustrated over 140 cards!

Check out the article, and if you’re a fan of Scott M. Fischer’s Magic art, you can visit his new webstore.

feat214a_nivix_guildmage

3 comments on “Scott M. Fischer on illustrating for Magic: the Gathering

  1. Bookstooge
    March 25, 2018

    That article was pretty cool. Not being an artistic type, I couldn’t see why he hated his Circle of Despair so much. It looked just fine to me.

    On a different note. The Masters25 boxes keep dropping in price at Amazon. I’m almost tempted. But I’m also thinking of splitting a box of Dominaria with a guy I play irregularly with, so I have to choose. And with Commander18 coming out later this year, well….

    How in the heck is a player supposed to DO all of this? I don’t play much 60card deck anymore, so buying the new sets is a low priority but I still like the feel of cracking packs and making up decks on the fly. On the other hand, Commander is definitely the format I prefer. Not 6 player mind you, but 1 or 2 others.I just prefer the longer drawn out play style.

    Liked by 2 people

    • davekay
      March 25, 2018

      Word is those boxes aren’t worth it at anything over $120 max. They are dropping because people won’t buy them. I think picking and choosing sets is sensible these days given there is a release of some sort practically every month now.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Bookstooge
        March 25, 2018

        I’ve seen a couple of videos where they open a couple of boxes and the mythic/rares are in the exact same packs in the exact same place and are the exact same cards. That’s just not enticing at all.

        Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 25, 2018 by in Art, MtG Artists and tagged , , .