Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Classic metals, made to order

Games Workshop have put up some trolls and a giant as their latest made-to-order range, which offers a chance to buy classic metal models for a limited time. The latest release is greenskin-themed to coincide with the release of the Greenskin range for Old World.

I own one of the above three stone trolls, the one on the left. In terms of Australian prices, I was surprised to see that the made-to-order trio cost maybe $1-$2 more than they would if I had bought all three in blisters in the 1990s. In real terms, this makes them about half-price.

Then there is the even older Marauder Giant:

I’m old enough to remember when Games Workshop sold Marauder miniatures, as well as Citadel miniatures. The Marauder brand was eventually dropped some time in the early 1990s. I also remember the internet rumour from around 20 years ago that the reason this model didn’t come back on sale was that a new employee had dropped the only mould, which shattered, making the model irreplaceable.

I didn’t find the rumour believable then, and this re-release shows it was never the case. It might be another 20+ years before they choose to sell this giant again, though!

4 comments on “Classic metals, made to order

  1. maenoferren22
    May 6, 2024

    I remember the miniatures, but to be honest would much rather carry my plastic giant around than a metal one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      May 6, 2024

      I like the old metal trolls, but for larger figures lik the giant it’s plastic all the way for me too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 6, 2024 by in Miniatures, Tabletop and tagged , , , , .