Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Daily miniature: armoured skeleton

I sold off my old Vampire Counts army years ago – 2007 in fact. A couple of miniatures weren’t included in the sale as I had taken them out of the box and misplaced them. This is one of the few remaining models. In common with the army, I had used a Chestnut Wash to try and get a rust effect. It would be many years before I realised I could use brown and orange paints to achieve that.

4 comments on “Daily miniature: armoured skeleton

  1. templeofthutmos
    April 2, 2024

    Took me a while on rust effects myself. Still struggling with it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • davekay
      April 3, 2024

      These days I find I get results I’m happy with just by using brown and orange paint, with a bit of bright metal to finish

      Liked by 1 person

      • templeofthutmos
        April 3, 2024

        Do you do the bright metal in specs over the brown and orange, or like on the edges?

        Liked by 1 person

      • davekay
        April 3, 2024

        Yes I try to pick out the edges and simulate some other random scrapes

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 2, 2024 by in Miniatures, Painting & Modelling and tagged , .