Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Once upon a Wednesday: the mystery model

This is another model which had been around well over a decade before I painted it in 2017:

In the original post I had to confess: I had no idea what this model was. All I could remember was that the model was made by Ral Partha.

After posting on Reddit, I learned that the model is called an Obsidiman. Okay then.

Now I look again at the image, I need to clean up those fingers!

8 comments on “Once upon a Wednesday: the mystery model

  1. Bookstooge
    November 18, 2020

    Ok, after our little talk about pens, I thought I’d ask you another question. How do you take the pictures so well of such small figures? I just took several pictures of the Doom game for a post in December and let me tell you, it was a bajillion times tougher than I thought to get some decent pictures. I don’t think I did real well and since I have a couple of weeks, I might try to take some over, mainly of the mini’s.

    Any tips or tricks?

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      November 18, 2020

      It is more tricky than it seems at first glance. I have been using my phone camera (iphone 6) for the past couple of years and it does okay. I find the trick is to have some natural light (or artificial white light) to illuminate the front of the models as you take the picture. It can make positioning yourself to take the photo awkward, but that seems to have a good effect for me. Camera flashes don’t work so well, I think the light is too harsh.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pete S/ SP
    November 19, 2020

    Nice work- I like him.

    Cheers,

    Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ann
    November 19, 2020

    Obsidiman seems like a good name. I thought it was some sort of stone person, golem, or living statue when I first looked at it. If I were playing in a D&D campaign that allowed for Warforged I might play one just to get a chance to use this miniature as my PC, if I owned it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      November 19, 2020

      When I first looked at it I wondered if it wasn’t a sci-fi model. Like an old hermit who used to be a Jedi kind of thing

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ann
        November 19, 2020

        I think it could easily work that way too. The Obsidimen could easily be a Sci Fi race, though as I type this the name makes the think very strongly of Doctor Who rather than Star Wars. đŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • davekay
        November 19, 2020

        I think you’re right, the kind of feature the Doctor might encounter on an alien planet

        Like

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 18, 2020 by in Once upon a Wednesday and tagged , .