Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Once upon a Wednesday: Crystal Brush 2015

I used to publish selected images of winning entries from the Crystal Brush miniature painting awards. This article was published in April 2015 – here’s the winning model from that year:

The Crystal Brush attracted some of the best miniature painters. As far as I can tell,the competition last ran in 2019. Presumably another victim of COVID.

The link in my article now goes to images of the 2019 winners.

2 comments on “Once upon a Wednesday: Crystal Brush 2015

  1. Kuribo
    June 27, 2024

    I think Golden Demon coming back to the US played a big part in killing the Crystal Brush because they held the competition at Adepticon and stopped as soon as GW brought GD back around that time. I’d love to see it come back as any kind of mini, including really large ones can be entered in the competition and those are really impressive in the display cases.

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      June 27, 2024

      I hadn’t considered the Golden Demon connection but I think you’re right. It’s a shame as I felt the two cater to different audiences. I guess painters typically only have time for one competition piece, not two, and Crystal Brush missed out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 26, 2024 by in Miniatures, Once upon a Wednesday, Painting & Modelling and tagged , .