Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Classic black orc

This one-part plastic model has been in my collection since the 1990s. I don’t quite remember how it got there – I didn’t buy the box of 10 of these models that was available back then, so I suppose I must have traded for it. He’s finally painted now:

Black Orcs miniatures have changed a lot since this guy was released, and they aren’t even called Black Orcs these days unless you are playing Blood Bowl. Old he may be, but I still like this model.

18 comments on “Classic black orc

  1. Peter Holland
    January 22, 2022

    These older models have a certain charm about them. It certainly takes me back to when I first started playing in the early 90’s. It’s partly why I don’t oldhammer series….. To relive my youth…..

    Liked by 2 people

    • davekay
      January 22, 2022

      Yes, there’s a great nostalgia feeling that comes with painting these models today

      Like

  2. Guru PIG
    January 22, 2022

    I agree. I have a whole lot to paint myself!

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      January 22, 2022

      I expect the new Hobgoblins are probably larger than this old Black Orc!

      Like

  3. Azazel
    January 22, 2022

    I remember those! Great work on him, Dave. 👍

    Liked by 1 person

  4. theimperfectmodeller
    January 22, 2022

    Very nicely done, great looking figure.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. imperialrebelork
    January 22, 2022

    Nicely done mate. I really like the sculpt

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      January 22, 2022

      thanks – this one is definitely a classic, whoever the sculptor was (I suspect Gary Morley), they achieved a lot with a single-part plastic.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pete S/ SP
    January 22, 2022

    Very nice.

    Cheers,

    Pete..

    Liked by 1 person

  7. deturnation
    January 22, 2022

    I was never a fan of the 90s orcs esthetic, but you painted him that he no longer looks as goofy as they looked back then. It seems true, that painted models sell miniatures, rather than sculpts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      January 23, 2022

      I think the typically bright 80s and 90s colours really emphasised the goofy aspects of the models

      Like

  8. daggerandbrush
    January 23, 2022

    Really like the green on this one. I presume you added some yellow or brown to it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • davekay
      January 23, 2022

      Thanks but the skin is only a contrast Militarum Green over a zenithal undercoat!

      Liked by 1 person

      • daggerandbrush
        January 24, 2022

        Surprisingly complex looking. I presume the zenithal priming helps to get the best out of the contrast paints.

        Liked by 1 person

      • davekay
        January 24, 2022

        I think it does, and I have been painting on a final touch of Wraithbone on the raised areas after undercoating.

        Like

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 22, 2022 by in Miniatures, Neglected models, Painting & Modelling, The Projects and tagged , , , .