Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Tools of the Trade

Tabletop Minions recently compiled a video where they interviewed a number of professional miniature painters and asked each of the them the same questions. The answers are as interesting as they are varied – with many answers contradicting the previous one! If you haven’t see it yet, here it is:

 

The answers about tools (paints and brushes) in particular got me thinking. While their answers were quite different – everything from use the cheapest to use the most expensive and several in between, they were all saying the same thing. Use what is fit for purpose.

For some people that will be going for the top quality, for most of us, I think fit for purpose means using those paints and brushes that allow you to paint to your best standard – and push a little further too. That often won’t mean the most expensive, but it will mean using those paints and brushes that help you paint the way you want, and won’t feel like they are holding you back.

I’m curious if this is what others do, or do you have strong views one way or another?

7 comments on “Tools of the Trade

  1. daggerandbrush
    April 22, 2017

    I think as long as a brush holds its tip and the paints behave in an expected way you are good to go. If the super cheapo stuff can provide this consistency I do not know, this is mainly the reason why I invest in paints made for modelling and high quality brushes. At least I know they will have certain known properties and I won’t have to test a bunch of unknown products.

    • davekay
      April 23, 2017

      I don’t mind testing something new now and then, but in the knowledge that I may never buy the product I’m testing again, so I don’t tend to spend big or buy lots of something before I know I want to use it.

      • daggerandbrush
        April 25, 2017

        Fair enough and a sensible attitude. I guess sometimes it is also that I know something works and thus I am less keen to try alternatives.

  2. Azazel
    April 23, 2017

    I use a mixture of “high end” (W&N S7) and cheaper brushes – both hobby brushes and $1.50 specials from the Bunnings “craft” aisle. “Fit for Purpose” is a good description since I’ve got no plans to do any drybrushing with a Series 7. Whatever works best (or well enough) for the job at hand. Cans of cheap primer and spray paint from Bunnings sit alongside my Tamiya & Testors cans.

    • davekay
      April 23, 2017

      Yes, also have a mixture of quality and cheap paints, for different purposes. I keep an eye out for 30% off W&N sales at Eckersleys!

  3. Tarmor
    April 23, 2017

    When I first started painting, I worked for a Wholesale Art Supply company – getting good quality brushes (and paint) at cost or from samples was great – I’ve still got some. I’ve bought plenty of cheap brushes since – some have been good, others – well, at least they didn’t cost much. I certainly agree with the idea of what ever works!

    • davekay
      April 23, 2017

      Getting things at cost sounds great!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 22, 2017 by in Miniatures, Painting & Modelling, Tabletop and tagged , , , , .
