Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

The Target update

In January I made my (for me) bold announcement that I would give myself a target of 100 painted miniatures by year’s end. This was motivated partly by seeing I had over 1,000 unpainted miniatures around the house, and partly because I want to improve my painting, which I feel has stalled over the last few years. If I want to improve, I need to practise, and this target has been a way of forcing that, or at least encouraging it.

With almost a quarter of the year gone, I have passed the 25 painted models mark, so I feel things are going well so far. Here’s the group shot:

targetupdate2501

Also following advice from a recent White Dwarf article, I’m keeping the models I’ve painted against the target on clear display. A small but significant change, since before reading that article I had the undercoated models where I could see them and the painted ones hidden in a drawer!

SAGA archers make up the majority of what I’ve done so far, 16 out of 30 models. As more models get painted, they will outgrow the ruined tower and I’ll find other terrain to place models on. These models take up around a third of the shelf they are on, so I look forward to filling it by year’s end!

targetupdate2502

I’ll do a second update when I reach 50 models, and a third at 75.

2 comments on “The Target update

  1. Azazel
    March 26, 2017

    Great stuff! I find blogging about them and the inherent feedback from others helps to keep me motivated as well.

    • davekay
      March 26, 2017

      Yes, I find the same too, the blog works better for me than simply posting pics to a forum

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 26, 2017 by in Miniatures, Painting & Modelling, The Projects and tagged , , , .
