Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Tablescapes: the next move

I’m very happy with my tablescapes, bit in a recent conversation with a friend we decided that we would not buy them again. They are great for hosting a game at home, but terrible to travel with. Vinyl game maps are far more convenient, and just as good looking, if in a different way.

So a second Tablescapes Kickstarter is not something I’d go for.

There’s one thing though that tablescapes can do better than a vinyl map, and that is building interiors. Dungeons, broken down ruins, spaceship decks. All of these benefit from the third dimension that tablescapes can bring.

I was clearly not having any original thoughts, because look what recently arrived in my inbox:

tabelscapesdungeonalert

This is perfect, and I only have a few weeks to prepare. After painting some Bones terrain I’m very optimistic about this one. Last time I spent half of $475 on Tablescapes (a half/half deal with the aforementioned friend). I may spend a similar amount this time.

4 comments on “Tablescapes: the next move

  1. Azazel
    July 10, 2016

    The big question will be what kind of “Bones PVC” they are made of – the soft bendy stuff, or the much harder material that they used to make things like the bins and shipping containers out of….?

    • davekay
      July 10, 2016

      I’m assuming the latter, as per the ruins of Dragons Don’t Share.

  2. daggerandbrush
    July 13, 2016

    I would wonder hoe heavy the tiles are? The Bones Plastic is pretty light, but if you cast relatively thick pieces with it that could be an issue. I guess I am getting too old and lazy to carry around several kilos on my back. That said there have an interesting “joyful fantasy” vibe to them. They would fit well Arcadia Quest.

    • davekay
      July 13, 2016

      That is a good point, the large Bones ruin piece I painted is solid and weighs more than a tablescapes tile and far more than a vinyl mat.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on July 10, 2016 by in Crowdfunding, Miniatures, Tabletop, Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
