Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Bones update 14

Another four Bones models as chosen by the family. I tried something different with these, and that was to paint on an undercoat. With past Bones models I was sprayed on a light white undercoat.

I wasn’t that happy with the results of the painted undercoat, and the more I read the consensus seems to be that it is unnecessary for the material. Certainly I didn’t feel the paint and take Bones models suffered for the lack of an undercoat. The next ones I try will probably be undercoat-free.

Bones_14

The female warrior with the dragon’s head is a nice sculpt but seems at a smaller scale than the other models. Perhaps she is simply meant to be slight. The paladin with the flaming sword and the treasure chest were both enjoyable to paint.

6 comments on “Bones update 14

  1. mcdwarf
    January 3, 2016

    Having done the same experiment I definitely agree – undercoating isn’t required and seems to take a lot of the detail away. Nice work there despite it!

  2. cappuccinogaming
    January 3, 2016

    These look really cool!!

    And may I ask – when you refer to an undercoat, you mean you prefer to paint without using a spray primer first?

    I’ve been painting a Reaper bones mini lately, and didn’t prime it as I had read they didn’t need primer – but my paint seems to almost…bead off of the surface? Do you happen to know how I can stop this?

    Thanks very much! Love your work 😀

    • davekay
      January 3, 2016

      Bones repels water so using acrylic flow regulator and or a thicker than usual paint rather than thinning with water will help . There is some good info on the Reaper forums about this

      • cappuccinogaming
        January 3, 2016

        Thank you very much!! I’ll go check them out! 🙂

    • 144artist
      January 4, 2016

      Giving your Bones minis a bath in watered down dish soap and scrubbing them with an old toothbrush before rinsing them will help a great deal. The problem is the mold release from the casting process that gets left behind. Wash it off and the paint not only holds onto the plastic but seems to bond with it.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 3, 2016 by in Bones!, Miniatures, Painting & Modelling, Tabletop, The Projects, Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
