Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

The pile of shame

Here it is:

pileofshame

Every miniatures player I know has one: models bought in the full flush of intentions. Instead they never leave the box, sometimes the plastic wrap never comes off the box! The only activity is a pity wipe down to remove the layers of dust, every couple of years.

The Lord of the Rings boxes date from 2010 as do the Gripping Beast plastics. Not pictured from the same year are two boxes of Perry European Mercenaries. Those boxes lie deep under a pile of assembled but unpainted miniatures, a different kind of shame pile.

I went a bit wild at a con in 2010, where I also picked up the Imbrian orcs & goblins, and a second box of Saxon Thegns that became the SAGA Anglo-Dane force. So, something got painted.

The wargames factory survivors (men and women) are more recent as is the Dropzone Commander army. Is it sad that I still have plans for all these models? Undoubtedly.

7 comments on “The pile of shame

  1. Fieldmechanik
    December 14, 2014

    It happens to the best of us. The good thing is that you can repurpose them or do like I do and take them to the FLS for store credit. Most of my pile of comes from good deals and freebies. For example, serving as a volunteer for Privateer Press reaped a punch of Press Gang points and free miniatures. I gave some away as prizes, but many I kept for myself. And Black Friday sales tend to add to the pile as well because when I can get a good deal I jump at it. And eBay is a factor, too. I have a Nurgle Greater Daemon that I bought on eBay in 2005 for like $10 including shipping. It’s still in the shrink shoved in my desk awaiting to some day see the light of day again.

    • davekay
      December 14, 2014

      Getting into Of Gods & Mortals recently has certainly helped me in the repurposing department. Still, I painted 100 miniatures last year and maybe 40 this year.

      • Fieldmechanik
        December 14, 2014

        That’s a lot of painting! Keep on, brother. Keep on.

  2. daggerandbrush
    December 14, 2014

    I know the problem. I still have some unpainted Confrontation Minis waiting to be touched…however, I’ll see to it eventually.

  3. davekay
    December 14, 2014

    In truth a big motivation for the projects section of this blog was to define all my different painting projects and get started knocking them over one at a time

  4. cappuccinogaming
    December 15, 2014

    Most certainly have this issue. I see them for sale and picture all the things I want to try or do with them. And then inevitably sit down to paint and either continue currently projects or already open sets.
    One day, I imagine they will all be painted….at least, that’s what I tell myself.

    • davekay
      December 15, 2014

      I will try to avoid Kickstarter in 2015 and finish as many ongoing projects as I can… we’ll see.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on December 14, 2014 by in Miniatures, Painting & Modelling and tagged , , , , , , .
