Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Reacting to the Episode VII trailer

If you are thinking “episode VII of what?” then this article is not for you. I have no unbiased opinions to offer on Star Wars. I was four-and-a-half years old when I saw Star Wars in the cinema and it changed my life forever.

It was not what I saw that affected me, it was what I felt while seeing it. I knew then that I had one goal in life; to be an x-wing pilot. It still hurts that that hasn’t happened, but there’s still time. I may be 41, but I am younger and in better shape than many of the pilots chosen for the Death Star attack mission.

Star Wars, the original movie, gave me a baseline I still use today for how things should be. The emotional connection from all those years ago is still there, and this is what comes back as I watch the new trailer.

Spoilers; I liked it. You had me at three x-wings over a lake. When the Millennium Falcon and John Williams’ music appeared at the same time you could have sold me anything, anything attached to this project.

I probably shouldn’t have said that out loud.

Of those actors we saw close up I can say little. I have no idea how important or not they will be to the film. I detect the hand of Lawrence Kasdan in this trailer. Empire Strikes back is he favourite of many, and Kasdan was behind a lot of that.

Episode VII may have a similar dual structure to episode V; namely and adventure movie and a medieval mystical journey film entwined together, with the emphasis given to the adventure. If that is the case then I’m in, but to be honest, I’m in anyway.

And I still want to do this:

3xwinglake

One comment on “Reacting to the Episode VII trailer

  1. Fieldmechanik
    November 30, 2014

    Reblogged this on STEAMPUNKAPOTAMUS.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 29, 2014 by in cool stuff, film and tagged , , , , , .
