Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Secret Weapon Interview

Bell of Lost Souls has an interview they conducted with Justin McCoy of Secret Weapon, talking about how he got started, and what drives him in business. Interesting.

“I’ve always wanted to do this, actually. You know when you’re a kid, and teachers ask you what you want to do when you grow up? Well, I always said that I wanted to build and paint models. Those teachers would pat me on the head and say, “and what else do you want to do?” I spent fifteen years doing other things, and I did them well enough to land that corner office job. You know what I learned? I learned that I really wanted to build and paint models, and wish I had stuck with it.”

They also touch on Tablescapes, his high profile Kickstarter project.

“Although I’m still struggling with the endless pit of delay that is working with factories in China, the product itself is incredible, and finally working its way to the USA for release. I can’t tell you how excited I am to be able to play a game on a themed, modular plastic table with matching terrain, and matching bases. A completely unified army! “

I get the impression from this interview that Justin started his company to make the kind of miniatures gaming accessories he waned to use himself, which is a great place to come from, and eplxains the quality of all Secret Weapon products.

Also I can add that I am a backer for Tablescapes, and 32 of those tiles will be coming my when once they ship – probably July. I’ll update The Projects once they arrive.

Information

This entry was posted on June 28, 2014 by in cool stuff, Miniatures, Painting & Modelling, Tabletop and tagged , , , , .
