Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Warhammer 40,000 Imperial Knight Review

The Imperial Knight is the latest large model release from Games Workshop for their science fiction game Warhammer 40,000. This was part of my birthday haul, a retro choice as I had played with the far smaller original back in the mid 90s.

Quality

This is a very good looking machine. The plastic detail is crisp and three-dimensional, giving the finished model a lot of depth. A great deal of thought and skill has gone into the design of this model. Where practical, articulation has been kept so you can move the guns on this model post assembly if you wish. The model is guaranteed to draw eyes on the tabletop.

ik101

ik103

ik102

Assembly

The three images above show my knight after assembly, base work and a nice black spray. This is a model of over 120 parts, and assembly is not going to be quick. However, Games Workshop have left nothing to chance, and provide you with a book showing how to assemble the model. Over 10 pages, you will put together your model. Parts that should be glued are clearly marked, and those parts that should be left alone for articulation are also clearly indicated.

ikins

To assemble, you simply start at stage one and follow your instructions.

There is also a sheet of transfers provided with the model. IMO waterside transfers are out of date compared to what you can obtain from the likes of Little Big Men Studios. However these look okay, and I may use them, depending on what colour scheme I decide to go with.

iktrans

Value

I don’t play Warhammer 40,000 and neither do I plan to. Interesting setting, terrible game is the short version of my opinion there. Therefore when looking at the value of this model I’m not thinking about it as part of an army for that game. I’m looking at its peer group of large science fiction ‘mech’ style models. Specifically I’m looking at the Colossal models from Privateer Press and the Leviathan Crusader from Dreamforge Games. I’m also looking in the context of Australian prices, since this is where I am located and where I buy most of my models.

In this context the Imperial Knight provides fine value. It’s more expensive than some of the Colossals, cheaper than others, and about 20% cheaper than the Leviathan Crusader. If you buy this model you should not feel that you are overpaying for what you receive. This is very much a market price model. FYI I used The Combat Company prices for the comparison.

2 comments on “Warhammer 40,000 Imperial Knight Review

  1. daggerandbrush
    April 27, 2014

    Thank you for the review. How does it compare to a standard 28mm miniature in size? It is a nice miniature, however, depending on one’s budget a Gundam might be a good proxie. Any idea how those compare to the knight?

    • davekay
      April 27, 2014

      I’m afraid I don’t know about the Gundam at all. Next time I post pics I will add a 28mm model or two to give an idea of size.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on April 26, 2014 by in Miniatures, Review, Tabletop and tagged , , , , , .
