Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

The Birthday Haul

I turned 41 in 2014, and my regression to childhood continues at a steady pace, as you can see here. A Magic card set, a War Machine book and miniature, and a Warhammer 40,000 Knight were my gifts this year. No doubt when I am 51 there will be Duplo blocks aplenty!

bday14

When you reach a certain age, it’s the simple truth that you have what you want, and if something else comes along you can simply buy it. This makes birthdays and Christmas problematic for the giftee as well as the gifter. Still, my tabletop itch has been well and truly scratched this birthday. There’s plenty here to keep me busy, along with a new painting project in the form of that Knight. The key to a good hobby gift in my opinion is something you are happy to receive, but would not otherwise have bought for yourself.

The knight was a pure nostalgia choice, I have no intention of buying or playing Warhammer 40,000. Assembling and painting the Knight is something I look forward to.

3 comments on “The Birthday Haul

  1. amanandhistoys
    March 23, 2014

    Happy birthday. Nice hoard 🙂

    • davekay
      March 24, 2014

      thanks! Now to find the time to assemble it!

  2. Pingback: Menoth Reinforcements update 2 | Scent of a Gamer

Comments are closed.

