Scent of a Gamer

From the computer to the tabletop, this is all about games. Updated each week-end.

Anglo-Dane Update

My first 12 Anglo-Dane warriors for SAGA are complete. These guys were a breeze to paint, and I loved the outcome of trying out shield transfers from Little Big Men Studios.

anglodanejan13_1

These models are Saxon Thegns from Gripping Beast, plastic figures which come in boxes of 44. This is easily enough to make an army of Anglo-Dane or Anglo Saxon warriors and hearthguard. For levy you’ll need unarmoured bodies from somewhere else.

I undercoated these models in black die to the amount of chain armour and the helmet also requiring a coating of metallic paint. When the models were painted I used a black wash to pick out any details that were lost under the paint. Finally I re=painted the shields in white, two coats, before applying the transfers. Any gaps around the transfer were painted over in a muddy grey.

The bases remain undecided, these will be done when the entire army is complete.

My Anglo-Dane army is currently 44 models strong (surprise!), and does not include any levy models. I like working with plastic over metal, and I do so whenever possible. Should a historical set of levy-looking miniatures appear, I would probably snap that up for use with both the Normans and Anglo-Danes.

Read on to update 2

One comment on “Anglo-Dane Update

  1. Pingback: Anglo-Dane Update 2 | Scent of a Gamer

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2013 by in SAGA Anglo-Danes, The Projects and tagged , , , , , , .
